A few days in Guernsey

I have just got back from a lovely few days with my husband and his family in Guernsey in the Channel Islands.  They have all been going for a long time and this was my 3rd trip with them.

  A big highlight for me is the very short flight, just 30minutes from Southampton.  I really hate flying so the shorter the better, though every time we have flown to Guernsey so far we go via Jersey so have to land and take off twice per journey.  This time it was a straight through though the the landing was not good, a little bit windy.

Guernsey is a beautiful island.  It reminds me of my home in South Devon where I grew up.  Rolling green hills, very narrow lanes, sandy beaches and gorgeous coastline.

Image

Even though we are only there for 3 full days we managed to pack quite a lot into our days.  We went for a few coastal walks and as always I was a little snap happy, taking pictures of everything.  On the first day we did a walk along the coast at L’Ancresse Common.  I found a really great seat that looked out to the sea.

 

Guernsey’s capital is St Peter Port, it is a beautiful port that has been in use since Roman times.  It has loads of history and is lovely just to wander around.  A favorite cafe of the Bishop family is Dix Neuf, which is nice to stop at after a bit of shopping and have a coffee.  It is a pretty port with a mix of architectural styles rising up the hills overlooking the harbor.  It also has a lot of really expensive looking boats.

 

Another great place to visit is The Little Chapel. It was built by Brother Déodat who started work in March 1914. His plan was to create a miniature version of the famous grotto and basilica at Lourdes in France.  It is decorated with seashells, pebbles and colourful pieces of broken china.

 Holidays always go so quickly and this was no exception but I enjoyed every minute of it.  

 

 I found the trip really inspirational and have got so many ideas for paintings, prints and textiles that I don’t know where to start.  I think that the sea is a perfect subject for the summer so there is a beginning.  My mind tends to want to do everything at once so I think I need to sit down with some of my photos and my sketch book and see where it takes me.

 

 

One thought on “A few days in Guernsey

  1. lovely pics and blog lucy!! cant wait to see some more of the craft items reflecting your inspiration from your trip!!!

Leave a Reply

