A Sunny Sunday Craft Fair

Yesterday I attended a craft fair at the Last Drop Village near Bolton.  It is a lovely venue, a collection of Georgian farm building which have been made into a hotel and spa with a tea shop and gallery.  My lovely sister Emma came with me to help me out though I think she spent a lot of her time in a queue getting cups of tea.

I met a lot of really lovely fellow crafters and in particular Lynn Holland who does the most lovely illustrations including her cute Doodly Birds collection.  Check out her wonderful blog where she has been kind enough to include a photo of one of my cake stands that she brought off me yesterday.  There is also a link to her Etsy shop, full of wonderful goodies.

Image

http://oneimadeearliertoday.blogspot.co.uk/2012/04/oh-no-i-spent-my-profits-on-cake-stand.html?showComment=1333355562931#c2211558179542861471

I love this wedding guest book, perfect for the coming wedding season: http://www.etsy.com/listing/93139600/hand-ilustrated-wedding-guest-book

Yesterday was the best I have done at a craft fair to date.  The last two were definitely more of a learning curve but were still invaluable experience.  Yesterday was the first time that I got my selling hat on a got to grips with properly talking to people and interacting and not waiting for people to ask me things.  I can be a very shy person but I really enjoyed bantering with customers and fellow stall holders and getting more confident and it definitely makes a huge difference to sales.  Also a big tip is standing up, don’t sit down when customers come over it makes a huge difference, it is easier to interact with people if you are on eye level with them.

I have woken up today feeling really good about getting going with my crafty business and planning where I go from here so watch this space……

One thought on “A Sunny Sunday Craft Fair

  1. Hi Lucy thank you for the lovely write up and links to my blog and shop. I am going to follow your blog to see how you are doing. I really like what you are doing and wish you every success. Your shop looks good too.
    By coincidence I am left-handed too. Perhaps thats what makes us creative.
    Best wishes
    Lynn

Leave a Reply

